ISTM 2020 Call for Nominations

ISTM depends on the high quality and dedication of its elected volunteer leaders for its continued vitality. Any qualified member in good standing is eligible to seek office. If you would like to be considered for a place on the ballot for the position of President-Elect or as a Counsellor on the Executive Board (Board of Directors), you have until Monday, 2 November 2020 to submit a nominations form found on MyISTM here. As only members are eligible to self-nominate, you will need to sign into your ISTM account to access the form.

The Executive Board is structured so that the Board represents multiple regions of the world even though some regions have many more members than others.

The President position is for a two-year term. However, the President first serves as President-Elect for two years preceding his/her term and then for two years after the term as Past-President (for a total of six years). Each Counsellor position is for four years. A nominating committee, in accordance with criteria set out in our bylaws, has been formed by the current Executive Board. Any ISTM member in good standing without a conflict of interest is eligible for nomination and it is desirable for a candidate to have the following qualifications:

  • Prior service on ISTM committees, professional/interest groups or ISTM-sponsored initiatives
  • Publication of travel medicine-related clinical or research articles in the Journal of Travel Medicine, other journals or books
  • Contributions to the biennial CISTMs
  • Leadership experience working with national or international professional societies or groups
  • Professional experience in the field of Travel Medicine

For each open position, the nominating committee will carefully review all the names proposed and will select, by majority vote, the names of two nominees most suitable to appear on the ballot in accordance with the bylaws of the ISTM. A link to a secure an anonymous electronic ballot hosted by a professional election firm will be e-mailed to all members in January of 2021 and the balloting will be open until early March of 2021. Election results will be announced at the membership assembly in May 2021, at the CISTM17.

The Society bylaws state that no more than three of the seven elected Directors of the Society may be from the same continent. The following paragraphs pertaining to the election process are quoted from the bylaws to increase an understanding of this process:

Article 8.2
The Executive Board shall be composed of the following seven voting positions: the President, the President-Elect, the Past President, and four Counsellors. Only the seven voting directors on the Executive Board may make motions and vote at a Board meeting. To the extent practical, the Executive Board also shall invite to its meetings as non-voting participants any other officer, standing committee chairperson, and publication editors, along with such other guests as the Executive Board deems appropriate. The following conditions apply to the Executive Board members:

a. No more than three of the seven Executive Board members may be from one continent.
b. No two consecutive Presidents or President-Elects may be from the same continent at the time of election.
c. At least one Executive Board member shall be a nurse.
d. No person may be elected to the office of President or President-Elect more than once.
e. Counsellors cannot be immediately reelected to a Counsellor position, but may run for office again after a two-year break in service.
f. Any Executive Board member appointed or elected to fill a vacancy on the Executive Board may not cause a violation of the geographic and other requirements outlined above.

Article 8.3
Every two years at a time sufficiently in advance of the next Membership Assembly, the nominating committee shall submit to the Secretary-Treasurer the names of two nominees for each of the positions on the Executive Board that are coming up for election. At least three months prior to the Membership Assembly, the Secretary-Treasurer shall send an electronic ballot to each member eligible to vote in accordance with the ballot procedures set forth in these bylaws at section 6.6. Counsellors shall be elected for a term of four years, while the President, President-Elect and Past President shall serve two years in each position (for a total of six years).

Please note that your nominations should be guided by the interpretation of the articles above the geographic composition of the Executive Board in 2021 at the time of election (see below).

Geographic Composition of the Executive Board in 2021 at the Time of Election

President: Peter Leggat, Australia
Immediate Past President: Lin Chen, United States of America
President-Elect: To be elected (cannot reside in the Australasia Region)
Counsellor: Rebecca Acosta, United States of America
Counsellor: Jenny Visser, New Zealand
Counsellor: To be elected Open
Counsellor: To be elected Open

2020-2021 ISTM Nominating Committee:

Peter Leggat, Australia, President-Elect, Committee Chair
Elizabeth Barnett, United States of America
Lucille Blumberg, South Africa
Vanessa Field, United Kingdom
Mike Jones, United Kingdom
Anne McCarthy, Canada
Andrea Rossanese, Italy
Eli Schwartz, Israel
Mike Starr, Australia
Robert Steffen, Switzerland